2005 Alumni Achievement Awards

Alumni Achievement Awards 2005

The annual UCC Alumni Achievement Awards Programme honours seven graduates, one from each  Faculty, who have obtained extraordinary distinction and success in their chosen fields and whose achievements have brought great honour to their alma mater. The Awards Evening is one of the highlights of the university's events programme and aims to foster a spirit of loyalty, involvement and commitment to UCC amongst alumni.

The 2005 UCC Alumni Achievement Award recipients are pictured above. Back row l/r:Dr Jean van Sinderen-Law, Director of Development, UCC, Padraig O'Riordain (Law), Dr John O'Brien (Food Science & Technology, Nicky Hartery (Engineering), Paul Durcan (Arts) and Eddie Murphy (BComm '78, HDE '79), Chairman and Managing Director Henry Ford and Son, Limited (Awards Sponsor).Front row l/r:Professor Patrick S. Parfrey (Medicine & Health), President Gerard T. Wrixon, Professor Margaret Murnane (Science) and Barry Desmond (Commerce).

Faculty of Arts Award - Paul Durcan

Paul Durcan (BA ’72) is one of Ireland's most celebrated and  popular poets.He dedicated his life to writing poetry and has edited over nineteen volumes of poetry with a career spanning over thirty years.  His writing has long been celebrated for a lyrical, freewheeling style that rejoices in the ordinary.  Paul was appointed by The Ireland Chair of Poetry as Ireland Professor of Poetry, 2004-2007.

Faculty of Commerce Award - Barry Desmond

Barry Desmond (BComm ’55, MComm ’65) led adistinguished career in public service at national and European level.Barry was first elected to the Dáil as a Labour Party TD in 1969.He was appointed Minister of State in 1981 and Minister for Health in 1982 where he implemented many reforming policies over the next five years in that role.He became Deputy Leader of the Labour Party in 1982 under Dick Spring’s leadership.Barry entered European politics in 1989 as a Labour Party MEP for Dublin and was appointed to the European Court of Auditors in 1994.

Faculty of Engineering Award - Nicky Hartery

Nicky Hartery (BE ’72) is Vice President of Manufacturing, Business Operations and Customer Experience for Dell Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and is the most senior Dell Executive in Ireland.  Nicky was a key member of the Enterprise Strategy Group which published “Ahead of the Curve – Ireland’s place in the Global Economy” in July 2004.  He is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers of Ireland.

Faculty of Food Science & Technology Award - Dr John O'Brien

Dr John O’Brien (BSc ’82, PhD ’88) is a recognised international expert in risk assessmentand food safety management.John is a chartered Chemist, chartered Biologist and registered Toxicologist. He was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI) in 2004.  He was founding editor of the journal, Trends in Food Science & Technology, is currently European Editor and has published widely.  Prior to joining the FSAI, John was Director of Corporate Scientific Affairs with the Danone Group.

Faculty of Law Award - Pádraig Ó Ríordáin

Pádraig Ó Ríordáin (BCL ’86, LLM ’89) received the Faculty of Law Award in recognition of his outstanding career in commercial and corporate law.  He was admitted to the Irish Bar in 1988 having obtained a BL from the Honourable Society of King's Inns, and he graduated with an LLM from Harvard Law School in 1990.  He was admitted to the New York Bar in 1991 and admitted as a solicitor in 2000.  Pádraig was appointed head of the New York Office of Arthur Cox in 1993.  He became Managing Partner of Arthur Cox in Dublin in 2003 at the age of 37.

Faculty of Medicine & Health - Professor Patrick S. Parfrey

Professor Patrick S. Parfrey(MB ’75) is a leading international specialist in clinical epidemiology and nephrology.Professor Parfrey is currenty Associate Dean for Clinical Research at Memorial University of Newfoundland.His research interests include the genetic and clinical epidemiology of inherited diseases, patient related problems in nephrology and healthcare delivery research.Over a long and productive career, Patrick has published over 200 original articles, he has contributed to many books and has supervised and mentored many young clinicians.

Faculty of Science Award - Professor Margaret Murnane

Professor Margaret Murnane (BSc ’81, MSc ’83) is a renownedphysicist and international leader in Optical Physics.Margaret was awarded a PhD fromt he University of California at Berkeley in 1989 and is currently Professor of Physics in the Department of Physics at the University of Colorado.Margaret is a leader in her research field of ultrafast optical science, x-ray science and lasers and she is considered one of the top women physicists in the Unites States. Margaret and her husband Henry Kapetyn, also a Professor of Physics, work together as a team and both are Fellows of JILA a leading research institute in the physical sciences. Margaret and her research group have published over one hundred and seventy publications.

Alumni and Development

Alumni agus Forbartha

University College Cork, 2.12 Western Gateway Building, Western Road, Cork, T12 XF62, Ireland